Corporate/University Testimonials

“Thank you so much for giving Dave such a great show for his 50th birthday tonight! He’s still baffled about the trick with the books especially. He was telling our babysitter when he got home. You put on a class act!” -Jill Carroll, wife of “United Breaks Guitars” YouTube sensation, and international award-winning musician DAVE CARROLL, Fall River, NS (March 2018)

“Thanks again, David. I love a good magic trick and want to be a magician when I grow up. Love your energy and showmanship with younger audiences but you bring it for the adults too. Thanks for making my birthday party truly unique!” “United Breaks Guitars” YouTube sensation, and international award-winning musician DAVE CARROLL, Fall River, NS (March 2018)

“Great magic, Mr. J!” -GERRY DEE, star of CBC TV’s top-rated comedy ‘Mr. Dee’
(Hired to perform for CBC’s ‘Mr. D’ Season 6 wrap party, July 2016)

“That was very impressive!” -PETER MANSBRIDGE, host of CBC TV’s ‘The National’
(Entertaining for a fundraising event, April 2016)

“Whoa! How’d you do that? Amazing!” -NATALIE MacMASTER, Canadian fiddling superstar
(Performing together at the Yukon Rendezvous Festival, February 2016)

“WHAT? How did that happen? Very cool, Mr. J!” -SHAUN MAJUMDER, star of CBC TV’s ‘This Hour Has 22 Minutes’ (Performing at his private Newfoundland cottage, August 2015)

“What an amazing show! Even with our large audience of immigrants from different ethnic backgrounds and religious beliefs, your clean, engaging show created an environment of wonder and laughter for a full hour. Very well done, Mr. J!”
– Maria Romos, ISANS (Immigrant Services Association of Nova Scotia) show at Mount Saint Vincent University (December 2017)

“You were a big hit with everyone, Mr. J! Hearing lots of great things from the whole staff!”
– Dr. Stacey Matheson, owner, CCA Periodontics Holiday Party, Halifax, NS (December 2017)

“Thanks for entertaining the adults for our family Christmas Party, Mr. J! You are very good at what you do!”
– Candyce Crawford, In-house family event, Dartmouth, NS (December 2017)

“We hired ‘The Amazing Mr. J’ for our corporate summer party and he was absolutely outstanding! Everyone loved his highly-interactive show, his energy, and of course his sense of humour. The magic was top-notch – the whole staff has been thanking me. Highest possible recommendation!”
– Brian Slemming, District Manager, Aramark Atlantic Canada (August 2016)

“Everybody thoroughly enjoyed your show Mr. J – lots of laughter, and I overheard many folks asking out loud how you did that!!”
– Dianne Kelderman, Nova Scotia Co-operative Council (June 2015)

“THIS WAS THE SINGLE GREATEST SHOW I’VE EVER SEEN AT THE MARIGOLD! You, Mike Robinson and Lenore Zann did a fantastic job. Absolutely awesome!!”
– Al Rosen, Executive Director, Marigold Cultural Centre, Truro, NS (April 2015)

“Thank you, thank you, thank you! Everyone’s talking about what an amazing show you did, Mr. J! Worth every penny- you were simply outstanding!”
– Beth Edwards, Fire Service Association of NS, Annual meeting (April 2015)

“Everyone was so, so impressed. Thank you Mr. J- will definitely be in touch for our Christmas party!”
– Tresa Blackburn, MANULIFE INSURANCE, Halifax, NS (March 2015)

“I just wanted to drop you a line to tell you that we and the guests really enjoyed your great show! We are looking forward to having you again really soon!”
– Laurie & George Boudreau, Wedding reception show, Arichat, Cape Breton, NS (July 2014)

“You were EXACTLY what we needed for this event. Thank you, Mr. J!”
– Shawn Carhart, retirement party for her Mom, Saint John, NB (June 2014)

“Well done, Mr. J! Roger (the Mayor) had a blast too!”
– Julia Dorrington, Co-ordinator, New Glasgow Seniors Club (June 2014)

“Your magic entertainment was the perfect compliment to our evening…just wonderful!”
– Ann Benitz, Mahone Bay Centre (May 2014)

“Fantastic! You and Tony Quinn (comedian and Air Farce TV guest) rocked it!”
– Sherisse Dawson, Lake and Shore Recreation, Porter’s Lake, NS (May 2014)

“Thanks for making our meeting a huge success!”
– Chelsea Burgess, J.W. Bird & Co. Ltd., Halifax, NS (April 2014)

“Awesome!!”
– Cindy Cameron, Truro Periodontics (December 2013)

“First class show, Mr. J- very entertaining, thank you!”
– Don Brander, PUBLISHER, THE GUARDIAN, Charlottetown, PEI (December 2013)

“This was a barrel of laughs…thank you!”
– Dr. Cecil Ojah, PEDIATRIC ASSOCIATION OF NEW BRUNSWICK, Saint John, NB (December 2013)

“Excellent job, Mr. J! Hearing lots and lots of postive feedback about your entertainment for our event!”
– Rachel Kerr, GIANT TIGER, New Glasgow, NS (November 2013)

“Thanks for making our event such a success!”
– Rachel Ravorado, BANK OF MONTREAL, Halifax, NS (October 2013)

“You were a riot, Mr. J! Great magic entertainment for our meeting. Our district manager, Ed, and Vice-President, Gord, loved hearing about your experiences on Dragons’ Den!”
– Angela Gilby, SCOTIABANK, New Glasgow, NS (May 2013)

“Thanks for being the highlight of our annual meeting!”
– Lynne Gerhardt, THE DOMINION, Halifax (May 2013)

“The residents all loved you- will definitely have you back again this fall!”
– Amanda Brown, Parkland Clayton Park Retirement Community (May 2013)

“I love it. I LOVE IT!”
– JIM TRELIVING, BOSTON PIZZA CEO, CBC TV’s DRAGONS’ DEN (April 2013)

“You had everyone laughing the whole time! Thank you, Mr. J!”
– Charlene Alchorn, Colchester Community Workshops (February 2013)

“Not bad, Mr. J, not bad! I should hire you as my portfolio manager!”
– KEVIN O’LEARY, CBC TV’S DRAGONS’ DEN (January 2013)

“I’d recommend your show to anyone!”
– Carl Hartlen, PRESIDENT, NOVA SCOTIA ASSOCIATION OF LAND SURVEYORS (October 2012)

“Excellent show, Mr. J- everyone LOVED your performance!”
– Jason Taylor, MANAGER, RAMADA HOTEL, Dartmouth (June 2012)

“Everyone was totally amazed and enthralled, I can’t believe some of the things you did. Love the animals, the magic, the comedy…everything about your show. Yes, definitely recommended!”
– Katie Downard, Student Union President, ACADIA UNIVERSITY, Wolfville, NS (March 2012)

“I knew it would be a great show…wow, even better than my expectations!”
– Debby Johnson, ZIVE INSURANCE, Halifax (February 2012)

“You are very gifted at what you do…amazing. You made this our most memorable get-together of the year. Thanks, Mr. J!”
– Karen Forrest, best-selling author, Dartmouth (December 2011)

“Wow! Yes, that was me screaming out loud in the audience. Seriously, how did you do that??”
– Candice London, EXIT REALTY X-Mas Party (December 2011)

“Excellent show…everyone has been talking about how much they enjoyed you!”
– Sven and Cathy von Kintzel, Jost Vineyards, Tatamagouche, NS (November 2010)

“HOW in the heck did you do THAT? That… was… amazing!”
– STAN LEE, SPIDER-MAN CREATOR (Mr. J performed some magic at Stan’s VIP party, Toronto, August 2010)

“Really great show…people loved your comedy magic! Best entertainment we’ve ever hired! Thanks for making out annual meeting such a success!”
– Olivia D’Eon, DIRECTOR OF CANADIAN RENTAL ASSOCIATION, Moncton, NB (February 2010)

“I don’t know how you did that stuff, and I don’t want to know either – the mystery is better! You were fantastic!”
– Paul Phillips, DIRECTOR OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT, PRECISION BIOLOGIC (September 2009)

“High energy and very funny, everyone loved it. Thanks for a perfect night, Mr. J!”
– Paul Couturier, CO-OPERATORS LIFE INSURANCE (August 2009)

“As the grand finale show at the end of our conference day, you thoroughly entertained everyone with your professional and engaging magic act. I would recommend Mr. J very highly!”
– Ed Wittchen, PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR, CANADIAN ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOL ADMINISTRATORS, Annual Conference at Lord Nelson, Halifax (July 2008)

“Wow! Amazing, just amazing!”
– Lisa Meers, MANAGER, SHOPPER’S DRUG MART (Gala Show, December 2007)

“You do good magic… thanks for the entertainment, David!”
– DAN AYKROYD- Ghostbuster, Blues Brother, Saturday Night Live legend (December 2007)

“Awesome magic, Mr. J… yes, I would definitely recommend your show. By the way, got any cheeseburgers?”
– PATRICK ROACH, aka “RANDY” from TRAILER PARK BOYS, after a performance at his house (December 2007)

“Fascinating…I still cannot come up with any logical explanation for any of the magic effects you did! On behalf of all our members, thanks so much for a most enjoyable hour of entertainment.”
– Margaret Woodworth, Office Administrator, Roofing Contractors Association of Nova Scotia (December 2007)

“A really great show! Thanks Mr. J!”
– Ivan Cozzi, North East Emergency Medical Conference (September 2007)

“The entertainment you provided was THE highlight of our time together!”
– Ron Marks, CONFERENCE CHAIR, NOVA SCOTIA SCHOOL BOARDS ASSOCIATION (June 2007)

“Great job! How’d you do that?”
– Jeff MacDonald, Central Freightliners Ltd. (December 2006)

“Very entertaining, with impressive magic. Everyone had a great time! You really worked the room!”
– Charlene and Blaine Thomas, Guysborough Antigonish Strait Health Authority (August 2006)

“Thanks for giving my brother Jean a 50th birthday he won’t forget. You really brought our extended family together!”
– Mr. Pierre Roy, Oak Island Resort (August 2006)

“Everyone really loved your very personable magic. By the way, nice suit! Thanks for helping make our medical conference a success!”
– Mrs. Ruby Knowles, Pictou County Health Authority (July 2006)

“The highlight of our conference! We’ll definitely be booking Mr. J again!”
– Mrs. Helen Triff, Nova Scotia Library Association Provincial Conference (October 2005)

“Everyone had a really great time. Your show is high-energy, interactive and fun- you really have a gift for entertaining!”
– Mrs. Nancy Sulis, Nova Scotia Retired Teachers’ Banquet (February 2005)

“You added lots of laughs to our Christmas Party Mr. J! Thanks!”
– Martin and Cheryl Sellers, Wilson Equipment Christmas Staff Party (December 2004)

The Amazing
   Mr. J ON

What a glorious group celebrating 'The Magic of Reading', at the 8th Annual Dartmouth Comic Arts Festival! Y'know, we've still got some summer left, Magic Friends- so still time to sit out in your favourite sun-chair with your kids, and enjoy some good old-fashioned book readin!' Super thanks to all the supremely creative ladies and gents there, the always stellar Stoo Metz Photography, plus all the swingin' Super-Heroes at Strange Adventures Comic Bookshops, for makin' this magical merriment happen every year! (And hang on tight to your new copies of 'Amazing Mr. J #1' from Grandway Comics...they might be worth a million someday...give or take a million!) :) #strangeadventures #grandwaycomics #stoometzphotography #magic #reading #AmazingMisterJ ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Hey Magic Friends! Do your kids like super-heroes, comics, and MAGIC? It's FUN for ALL-AGES today (Sun. Aug. 18th), at the 8th Annual Dartmouth Comics Arts Festival! FREE admission! You can meet dozens of top comic writers and artists, including top talent from Marvel, and political cartoonist Michael DeAdder! (But wait, there's MORE!) FREE Magic Entertainment and balloons from yours truly, and your chance to grab a FREE exclusive copy of 'The Amazing Mr. J #1', thanks to the glorious gang at Grandway Comics! So whaddaya waitin' for? All the DCAF action happens at Alderney Gate in Dartmouth! See ya there, Fellow Fans of Fun! :) dcaf.strangeadventures.com/ #strangeadventures #dartmouthcomicartsfestival #DCAF #grandwaycomics #magic #fun ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

7 days ago

The Amazing Mr. J - Magician & Entertainer

Thanks to Evergreen Home for Special Care for the chance to entertain for their children and adults with special needs! The first class quality staff, and kind, joyful, fun-loving residents, made for a truly magical experience! As you know, people with special needs inspire a special kind of love, and this day truly warmed my heart. "Children are not a distraction from more important work. They are the most important work." -C.S.Lewis ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

You know you're doing OK when you actually receive top billing over..."Bouncy Houses!" Thank you, New Glasgow, for rocking the community with all your Magical energy...it felt like a Bouncy House on stage! :) ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

For your birthday, have you ever gone on a nostalgic trip/sentimental journey? Yesterday (August 4th) was my birthday, but also EXACTLY 40 years to the day Mr. J performed his FIRST MAGIC SHOW EVER! (August 4th, 1979- Grandparents house in Saint John, NB- 6th Birthday!) By lucky coincidence, I had a Magic Show booking near Sussex, NB this weekend (!), so decided to drive to Saint John with that EXACT SAME BIRTHDAY GIFT MAGIC SET (saved the packaging and everything!), given to me as birthday gift EXACTLY 40 YEARS AGO (THANKS, MOM & DAD!) to return to my late Grandparents' house, where I did that first ever "show". Felt very surreal and emotional, as that long ago day started a lifelong love of entertaining for people, and trying to make folks smile. Still remember all the laughing encouragement from all the adult guests that day, as yours truly (at six!) tried to walk around to everyone in turn, performing magic tricks. Who knew, 40 years later, I'd return to that same house after performing a real live show nearby, wearing full tuxedo and top hat, celebrating 20 years now as a professional magician? (This second anniversary made for a double coincidence, having been entertaining 'Nationwide Since 1999', across Canada from Newfoundland to the Yukon!) A thank you from deep inside my heart to everyone for all their encouragement on this journey, and all the kind birthday wishes. It has been an overwhelming joy to entertain for so many grown-ups and kids over the years. And upon seeing children at Magic Birthday Shows receiving a Magic Kit themselves, it always makes me smile inside.So thank you, Magic Friends! By the way, if you personally have the chance to visit a treasured childhood place of your own, replete with rich memories, treat yourself to your own "nostalgia trip/sentimental journey" and DO IT! And if you have any children with a passion for something- sports, music, writing (or Magic!)- your encouragement means the world. You know, my Parents and Grandparents changed my life that day, on my 6th birthday, 40 years ago. So that's a personal Magic Power YOU have too!! :) ... See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

The Amazing
   Mr. J ON

YOUR MAGICIAN to the STARS!

The Amazing Mr. J performs for celebrities at VIP events, and loves sharing stories! He’s faced the Dragons on Dragons’ Den, entertained for CBC’s Peter Mansbridge, Gerry Dee (Mr. D), Lionel Richie, Natalie MacMaster, NHL stars, Hulk Hogan, Stan Lee, and many more!

“HOW the heck did you do THAT? That… was… amazing!” – Stan Lee, Toronto, August 2010